Adblock Plus Parent eyeo Announces Members of Independent Acceptable Ads Committee

COLOGNE, Germany & SAN FRANCISCO–(BUSINESS WIRE)–eyeo, parent company of Adblock Plus, today officially announced the
first members of the Acceptable Ads Committee (AAC), an independent
group which will take over control of its Acceptable
program. The Acceptable Ads program began in 2011, when Adblock
Plus started letting users block most ads, but permitting ads that met
criteria for acceptability – so long as the user chose to participate.
The AAC will take full authority over these criteria and the compromise
between users who want to block intrusive ads and publishers who rely on
advertising revenues.

Also, in an industry first, an ordinary user will be seated as one of
the 11 committee members to represent consumers’ demands of the online
advertising industry.

The AAC will take over management of the Acceptable
Ads criteria
and the rules for whitelisting that Adblock
, AdBlock,
and Crystal
all abide by to offer users the ability to block unwanted ads while
allowing through better, more respectful ones for those users who choose
to view ads. While eyeo is facilitating the recruitment of the members
constituting the initial AAC, the various member groups represented on
the committee itself will seat future committees.

The AAC can have a maximum of 11 committee seats, representing nine
member groups. At this time, there are eight committee seats filled: two
of the (three) digital rights seats and the user seat have yet to be
finalized. The user seat will be filled at the end of an ongoing
recruitment process over various social media channels, and will
represent the very first time that an actual user will have an equal
part in a decision-making process with advertising ecosystem

The committee members who took a seat are listed here:

For-profit coalition

  • Advertisers: Dell (seat)
  • Ad-tech: Rocket Fuel Inc. (seat); Rakuten Marketing; Native
    Ads, Inc.; Sharethrough; The Media Trust; Inc.; Criteo;
    Look Listen; ZEDO; Bidio, Inc.; Instinctive, Inc.; Adtoma AB
  • Advertising agencies: M&C Saatchi Mobile (seat); The
    Tombras Group; Saatchi & Saatchi; TLGG; Schaaf-PartnerCentric
  • Publishers and content creators: Condé Nast (seat); Dennis
    Publishing; Local Media Consortium; TED Talks; Leaf Group

Expert coalition

  • Creative agent: Jay Morgan (of J. Walter Thompson Worldwide)
  • Researcher: Bloor Research International Ltd.
  • User agent: UC Web (maker of UC Browser, a subsidiary of

User advocate coalition

  • Digital rights organizations (x3):
  • Fight for the Future
  • [Open]
  • [Open]
  • User – Recruiting starts March 15.

The application process for joining the AAC is still ongoing and
continuous. Interested parties should please
apply here

Acceptable Ads Committee
The Acceptable Ads Committee (AAC)
will be a formal committee of a nonprofit organization, Acceptable Ads
Committee, Inc. The committee will meet at least two times a year and
will be comprised of up to 11 official members. While these 11 committee
members will sit officially at the meetings, each member group may
contain up to 50 members; AAC members therefore are representatives of
their respective member groups and are in charge of facilitating
conversations within said groups regarding matters considered at AAC

AAC Bylaws:


for eyeo
Rich Mullikin, APR, +1 415-464-8110 x216
Mobile: +1