Recipients of 2016 Susan G. Komen® Brinker Awards for Scientific Distinction Honored Today at 39th Annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium

DALLAS–(BUSINESS WIRE)–#SABCS–The 2016 recipients of the Brinker
Awards for Scientific Distinction
will be recognized for their vital
contributions to research today at the prestigious 39th
annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium (SABCS). Charles Perou,
and Monica Morrow, M.D., FACS, will both deliver
keynote lectures during the symposium, and will be honored at a
reception this evening.

Established by Komen in 1992, the Brinker Awards for Scientific
Distinction recognize the efforts of pioneers in two critically
important areas of the fight to end breast cancer: Clinical Research and
Basic Science. This year’s winners join the ranks of an esteemed group
of scientists who have been recognized for advancing breast cancer
research and medicine with the Brinker Awards – the highest scientific
honor awarded by Susan
G. Komen
, the world’s leading breast cancer organization.

The 2016 Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Basic Science will
be presented to Dr. Perou, the May Goldman Shaw Distinguished Professor
of Molecular Oncology and Professor of Genetics and Pathology &
Laboratory Medicine at the University of North Carolina School of
Medicine and co-program leader of the breast cancer research program and
member of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Perou’s
work has helped to characterize the diversity of breast tumors,
demonstrating that breast cancers can be classified into at least five
molecular subtypes. His work also led to the discovery of the
basal-like/triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) subtype. Further, he and
his colleagues were among the first to discover that the breast cancer
subtypes were of prognostic and predictive value, and to associate
specific genetic mutations with specific breast cancer subtypes.

Dr. Morrow, chief of the Breast Surgery Service and Anne Burnett
Windfohr Chair of Clinical Oncology at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer
Center and Professor of Surgery at Weill Cornell Medical College, will
receive the Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Clinical
Research. Dr. Morrow has been a champion of the idea that “more is not
necessarily better” when it comes to breast cancer treatments, devoting
her career to advancing clinical practice and empowering women to make
treatment decisions. She was instrumental in showing that sentinel lymph
node dissection is an effective and safe alternative to complete
(axillary) lymph node dissection for many women with early metastatic
breast cancer.

More than 60 other Komen representatives including Scientific Advisory
Board members, Komen Scholars and grantees will join Dr. Perou, Dr.
Morrow and thousands of other leading physicians and researchers from
around the globe at SABCS, contributing to discussions around
experimental biology, etiology, prevention, diagnosis and therapy of
breast cancer.

Advancing breast cancer research has been a priority for Komen since
opening its doors in 1982. To date, Komen has invested more
than $920 million
in breast cancer research, and is the largest
nonprofit funder of breast cancer research outside of the U.S.
government, currently funding nearly 300 research grants worldwide.

About Susan G. Komen®

Susan G. Komen is the world’s largest breast cancer organization outside
of the federal government, funding more breast cancer research than any
other nonprofit while providing real-time help to those facing the
disease. Since its founding in 1982, Komen has funded more than $920
million in research and provided more than $2 billion in funding to
screening, education, treatment and psychosocial support programs. Komen
has worked in more than 60 countries worldwide. Komen was founded by
Nancy G. Brinker, who promised her sister, Susan G. Komen, that she
would end the disease that claimed Suzy’s life. Visit
or call 1-877 GO KOMEN. Connect with us on social at


Susan G. Komen
Joni Avery, 972-855-4382