BIO is Now Accepting Nominations for its Fourth Annual Rosalind Franklin Award

WASHINGTON–(BUSINESS WIRE)–#BIOWC17–The Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) began accepting
nominations for its fourth annual Rosalind Franklin Award for Leadership
in Industrial Biotechnology. Each year, this award is given to an
outstanding woman in the industrial biotechnology sector who has made
significant contributions to the advancement of the biobased economy and
biotech innovation. The 2017 BIO Rosalind Franklin Award will be
presented at the 2017
World Congress on Industrial Biotechnology
, which will be held July
23-26, 2017 at the Palais des congrès de Montréal in Montréal, Québec,
Canada. The deadline for nominations is March 24, 2017.

Brent Erickson, Executive Vice President, Industrial and Environmental
at BIO, stated, “Rosalind Franklin is an inspiration to female
scientists; and yet the importance of her involvement in the discovery
of DNA is often undervalued. With this award we hope to honor Rosalind
Franklin’s legacy and all women who have who have defied odds and made
lasting contributions to the field of biotechnology.”

Rosalind Franklin conceived and captured Photograph 51 of the “B” form
of DNA in 1952, while at King’s College in London. This photograph,
acquired through 100 hours of X-ray exposure from a machine Dr. Franklin
herself refined, revealed the structure of DNA. The discovery of the
structure of DNA was the single most important advance of modern
biology. James Watson and Francis Crick, working at Cambridge
University, used Photograph 51 as the basis for their famous model of
DNA, which earned them a Nobel Prize in 1962. Though sometimes
overlooked, Rosalind Franklin’s critical work and discovery in the field
has allowed the biotechnology industry to become what it is today.

More information about the nomination process is available here.

Nominees must be living individuals who exhibit leadership qualities,
and have pioneered efforts in industrial biotechnology. Applicants
should demonstrate significant innovative contributions in a field
integral to the advancement of a biobased economy.

The Award will again be sponsored by the Rosalind
Franklin Society
whose goal is to support and showcase the careers
of eminent women in science.

Past recipients of the Rosalind Franklin Award are

  • Anna Rath, President and CEO of NexSteppe, in 2016
  • Dr. Jennifer Holmgren, CEO of LanzaTech, in 2015
  • Dr. Debbie Yavers, Director of Expression Technology, Genomics and
    Bioinformatics at Novozymes, in 2014

All programs at the World Congress on Industrial Biotechnology are open
to attendance by members of the media. Complimentary media
 is available to editors and reporters working full time
for print, broadcast or web publications with valid press credentials.

For more information on the conference please visit
For assistance, please contact

About BIO

BIO is the world’s largest trade association representing biotechnology
companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers and
related organizations across the United States and in more than 30 other
nations. BIO members are involved in the research and development of
innovative healthcare, agricultural, industrial and environmental
biotechnology products. BIO also produces the BIO
International Convention
, the world’s largest gathering of the
biotechnology industry, along with industry-leading investor and
partnering meetings held around the world. BIOtechNOW is
BIO’s blog chronicling “innovations transforming our world” and the BIO
Newsletter is the organization’s bi-weekly email newsletter. Subscribe
to the BIO Newsletter

Upcoming BIO Events

Asia International Conference

March 14-15, 2017

Spring Conference

March 20-22, 2017
Barcelona, Spain

IP Counsels Committee Conference

March 27-29, 2017
Beach, CA


Biotechnology Innovation Organization
, 202-312-9288